Locked in a Closet

This is what I hear about the most. “What about socializing?” “Do your kids have friends?” No, we duct tape them to chairs and just bring them food every now and then. SMH. Seriously, if you homeschool your kids and feel they are not getting enough socialization, do something about it. Don’t let the kids feel left out.

I’ve asked my kids numerous times if they wanted to attend a public school so they could hang out with some friends more often and they both say no. We were a part of a co-op for a while where we have made life long friends, but we also find socialization elsewhere. We are very active in our church and my son just went to church camp for the first time this summer. Both of my kids love drama and have been in numerous plays in the Kidz Krew at our local Art Center. My son is a 1st degree black belt in Hapkido. He also plays baseball and my daughter attends gymnastics and used to compete in dance. Besides that, they attend numerous social events with my husband and me around the area. My husband is the Chamber Chair and we are very active in clubs and charity events. We feel it important to immerse it children into that world.

Socialization problems? I think not!

A Homeschool Mom

Friends and "Family"If you’ve ever come across the numerous blog posts written by ex-homeschooled kids, you will notice a trend. Generally speaking, the complaint lies in socialization. It seems they did not have enough friends, go on enough outings, or have the privilege of attending prom. To their way of thinking, they might as well have been locked in a closet.

While we’ve discussed the silly myth of socialization among homeschooled children, it does seem there is a certain percentage of children who are not enjoying enough interaction with other people.

As a parent who truly does want my children to enjoy meaningful friendships and have lifelong relationships, how then do I go about the act of socialization? I think there are numerous ways in which this can be accomplished:

  • Church
  • Sports
  • Co-ops
  • Family
  • Fellowship with Friends
  • Ministry Opportunities

I am sure the list could go on; however, I doubt it is…

View original post 208 more words

Leave a Reply

