Review-1979: Short Story Collection by Steve Anderson

1979: short story collection1979: short story collection by Steve Anderson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Having been born in 1978 I was just a babe in the 70’s. While I’ve heard many stories from older friends and family, this is the way one should learn about growing up during that time. I found a connection with each of the 13 stories in this anthology. Each story is short which is reminiscent of times when my cousins and I sat on the floor and listened to my parents and grandparents tell us stories of the good ole days. Except in this case, it wasn’t that long ago.

It’s interesting to me to read about the Midwest as all of the stories handed down in my family are from Texas. I found myself laughing and repeating all of the slang phrases throughout the book. So many times in novels, authors forget what time frame they are in and something modern slips in. Steve Anderson stayed in his time frame and made me feel like I had been a bystander in each story.

While reading First Great War I even felt a tad embarrassed. I was so engrossed in the storytelling that I thought of myself as the youth Mr Dingus was telling a certain French story to. I may have blushed a bit. But these are the stories that make life memorable and Bravo to Mr Anderson for his wonderful storytelling skills.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

