Keturah by Lisa T Bergren

Description: In 1772 England, Lady Keturah Banning Tomlinson and her sisters find themselves the heiresses of their father’s estates and know they have one option: Go to the West Indies to save what is left of their heritage.

Although it flies against all the conventions for women of the time, they’re determined to make their own way in the world. But once they arrive in the Caribbean, proper gender roles are the least of their concerns. On the infamous island of Nevis, the sisters discover the legacy of the legendary sugar barons has vastly declined–and that’s just the start of

what their eyes are opened to in this unfamiliar world.

Keturah never intends to put herself at the mercy of a man again, but every man on the island seems to be trying to win her hand and, with it, the ownership of her plantation. She could desperately use an ally, but even an unexpected reunion with a childhood friend leaves her questioning his motives.

Set on keeping her family together and saving her father’s once-great plantation, can Keturah ever surrender her stubbornness and guarded heart to God and find the healing and love awaiting her?

MY REVIEW: I was very fortunate to be provided a copy of Keturah in exchange for an honest review from Litfuse Publishing.

Once Lisa posted that she was beginning a new series of books I was instantly intrigued. Some may call me a stalker, but I call myself an interested individual who must keep up to date on the research and ideas authors post in order to know exactly when said book will be published. 😬 I mean, I’m not really stalking if I’m just reading her public posts, am I?

On to my thoughts. Keturah began a bit slow, however I understand why it needed to be that way. It’s important for some background information and character development to take place prior to jumping into such an involved story. We need to fully understand the feelings of the time in order to appreciate the characters and their obstacles.

I took an immediate liking to the sisters. I’d like to think I’d be as tenacious as they were, but could I really set out with just my sisters to a place where young women had to struggle to be taken seriously? Could I run a plantation in the Caribbean? If I’m honest, absolutely not. I am not a feminist by any means, however after reading about all of the obstacles these women encountered during this incredible story, I have a new found respect for women in that time. In fact, I have a new admiration for farmers in general. (Personal note, I must remember to send my brother-in-law a note telling him I appreciate his hard work running a citrus farm in South Texas and all of his hard work lobbying in Washington for all of the agriculturalists in the US)

The other aspect of this story that touched me was the relationship between Keturah, her sisters, and (ahem) a certain young man whose name I won’t reveal in my review. Let’s just say sometimes the best romances are the sweet ones that take longer to develop.

This story will appeal to many different readers. I don’t feel right tagging a specific genre because here are so many aspects discussed in this book that can span multiple genres. All Lisa Bergren fans can sigh with relief that Lisa has created another series we will all love. Now let’s all stalk, I mean, write Lisa and tell her we need the next installment yesterday. 😉

Enter to win a copy of Keturah. Five winners will be chosen! Click the image below to enter to win. The winners will be announced March 13 on the Litfuse blog!

Lisa T. Bergren has published more than 40 books with more than 3 million books sold combined. She’s the author of the Christy Award-winning “Waterfall,” RITA®-finalist “Firestorm,” bestselling “God Gave Us You,” and popular historical series like Homeward, Grand Tour, and more. She’s also a recipient of the RT Lifetime Achievement Award. She lives in Colorado Springs with her husband and three teen-and-older children.Lisa T. Bergren has published more than 40 books with more than 3 million books sold combined. She’s the author of the Christy Award-winning “Waterfall,” RITA®-finalist “Firestorm,” bestselling “God Gave Us You,” and popular historical series like Homeward, Grand Tour, and more. She’s also a recipient of the RT Lifetime Achievement Award. She lives in Colorado Springs with her husband and three teen-and-older children.

Find out more about Lisa at http://lisatawnbergren.com.

FacebookTwitterPinterestInstagram

Leave a comment